Weathering the Storm

Autumn has come to an end, but a season of change in my life is just beginning. As I begin to embrace the season of giving, I can’t help but feel that I’m only just rejoining the business of life.

I’m writing this piece today to help anyone who feels as though a big black raincloud is following them around with no end in sight. I promise you it is, the storm will pass. I want to share what helped me get through a recent tough time.

Keep Busy

I heard a lovely story from a friend recently. While at work, she got chatting to an older woman. My friend said that this woman looked no older than 70. When she revealed that she was 91, my friend asked, “Have you any secrets for staying youthful?” To which she replied, “Just keep busy!” She had been a nurse for over 50 years. Wonderful advice.

Pamper Time

Looking after ourselves on the outside is so important. It makes me feel refreshed, polished and confident. Taking time to eat well and use my favourite body butter on a cold, rainy evening makes the world of difference to how I feel. This time might feel like a luxury, but it’s imperative we look after ourselves and feel our best. That way, we can take on the world!

Nature

Watching the seasons change in Autumn always reminds me that everything in life has a time. It’s invigorating to be out and about in life. I love listening to the birds chirp and sing, watch the clouds float by, feel the sunshine on my face, breathe in crisp and silky air and observe the beauty of the leaves as they change. Such beauty is a good for the soul.

Escapism

There’s nothing better than cuddling up under a cosy blanket with fairylights on all around and watching a great show. For this, I turn to Netflix. With a TV show, you can forget your troubles and get lost in a new world. Some of my favourites: When Calls The Heart, Full House, Pride and Prejudice, Stranger Things, Gilmore GirlsDirk Gently’s Hollistic Detective Agency, Unbreakable Kimmy Scmidt, Gavin & Stacey, Emma and Daughters of Destiny.

0cd39ff66ee49b8c5b640797a9e89e34

Whatever you are going through, it won’t last. Tough times never do. Your luck will turn around, your heart will heal and time will pass. I believe in the mystery of the universe or whatever this beautiful journey we are all on is. I think sometimes, having a little faith also helps us along. So for now, do what you can to get through each day and look after yourself and your loved ones.

Until next time… ♥

One thought on “Weathering the Storm

  1. Hi, I tried to get in touch with you earlier for a collab, but I didn’t hear back. So I just wanted to say Hi here and wanted to ask if you are open to collabs. Should that be the case I happily would hear back from you on my email elena@blogerize.com– should you not be interested happy blogging and all the best! Xoxo

    Like

Leave a comment